HTML

Eugene weekly

the first week

Friss topikok

  • Lauren at ELAW: We miss you already, Agnes! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here in Eugene. You are welcome back... (2010.03.17. 16:54) last Sunday of the Fellowship
  • Cassie C.: I've been to Portland several times, but have never had such an adventure there. I guess it's too ... (2010.03.12. 01:50) short visit to Portland
  • Cassie C.: My "reliable source" came from National Weather Service & Underground Weather :) (2010.03.05. 19:31) Week of the PIELC
  • taktim: I just want to remind you that EMLA office in Budapest also has a very special atmosphere: sedativ... (2010.02.26. 14:55) 15/2/2010-21/2/2010
  • Cassie C.: I am glad that you like the Chinese New Year Celebration:) (2010.02.16. 22:14) the 6th "7"

Linkblog

last Sunday of the Fellowship

2010.03.11. 07:21 agnes.g

Dear Reader,

now, in the middle of the last week and before the final exams at the AEI, I tell you my last Sunday.

I broke a fortune cookie one hour ago and the prophecy said that “An interesting musical opportunity is in your near future.”  … but the message of the oracle (or rather the Chinese restaurant) had been already fulfilled before the cookie was broken: on my last Sunday in Eugene I saw a musical performed by children and teenagers. I had been looking forward to that because I like theatre and music very much. After I entered the theatre (the studio), the "Sunday Afternoon Fever" almost made me  dizzy, because excited children and their more excited parents were bustling round me until the matinee began.


Both of Bern’s daughters had roles in the play which was about how a little orphan`s, Annie’s miserable life changes because a billionaire adopts her. The story is set in the USA in the early ‘30-ties. While Annie finds a new family, the USA also gets solution to the depression; namely President F. D. Roosevelt introduces the New Deal.
We saw sad and humorous scenes, complications and a great denouement; there were nice solos and cuddly little children who loved to be on the stage. Tatum (Tessie) was one of the orphans (she didn’t seem nervous at all!) and Harper, who was in the role of Mrs. Pugh, looked like a real lady in her costume and with her serious bun.

The children did very well; even if some of them were nervous, they always were able focus on the next sentence, scene or gesture. It was so sweet that even now makes me smile when I am thinking about some of the scenes.  


After the performance I had dinner from the “Impromptu Kitchen” that provides brand new approach to combining spices, fruits and vegetables … O Pioneers!


Maybe continued


Agnes

 

1 komment

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://agnesatelaw.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr281830470

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Lauren at ELAW 2010.03.17. 16:54:25

We miss you already, Agnes! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here in Eugene. You are welcome back anytime. Maybe one day, I will get to see your beautiful country. You will definitely be my tour guide - you always seem to make the most fun adventures happen for yourself.
süti beállítások módosítása